Olsen, Ole: Asgaardsreien, Symphony in G, Suite for string orchestra

        Ole Olsen

Classics Today
Ole OlsenEAN: 7393338108627                     Performer:
        Latvian National SO
        Terje Mikkelsen

        Back cover

CDS 1086-2 Ole Olsen (1850-1927): Asgaardsreien op.10, Symphony in G op.5, Suite for string orchestra, Op.60. Latvian National Symphony Orchestra conducted by Terje Mikkelsen.

SACD This recording is released on Hybrid Super Audio CD (SACD) format. SACD provides the precision of digital technology while retaining the warmth of analog sound.
At the age of 29, in 1879 Ole Olsen went on his first international tour, conducting his music in Leipzig, Cologne and Paris. The main work on this tour was Op.10 Asgaardsreien (The ride of Asgaard) which was wery well received. This encuraged him to extend his travelling for another two years touring Wienna and during this time made useful contacts with Liszt, Brahms and Goldmark. His catalogue includes music for a wide variety of occations and instrument combinations. His Symphony in G is the only symphony but he composed a lot of songs and cantats and a number of occational pieces.

    Ole Olsen (1850-1927)

  • Asgardsreien Op.20

  • Symphony in G major Op.5
    - Allegro maestoso

    - Allegro
    - Andante
    - Andante quasi adagio

  • Suite for String Orchestra Op.60
    - Song
    - Northern Light and Ice Field

    - Spring
    - Dream
    - Among the Gypsies
    - Dwarfs and Elves
    - Sunset

toccata Köp den av Toccata Music Shop

© 2009 Sterling, Stockholm, Sweden